Some business observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solution can help address this problem?

These days, most young employees seem to not have the skills to communicate with their colleagues. Individualism and the habit of studying on their own could be the reasons for this problem. The solutions, however, could be to encourage team spirit through internship during the studies or to organise seminaries at work to introduce them to the team. Individualism is the main issue of today's society which leads people to think and even to work on their own. Especially at university, students are used studying and doing research by themselves. In other words, colleges or universities ask them to provide individual work to be able to mark them objectively. For example, when students have to make a presentation or take an exam, they do it without any help. Another reason to take into consideration is youth; when we are young, we are as not as confident as a mature person. We need to adapt to a new situation which can intimidate us. For instance, new colleagues, new tasks and new rules may fear most of us. Solutions could be found to solve this problem. Some companies organise some meetings or lunches with all employees in order to introduce new colleagues, which can encourage people to work and communicate together. For example, seminars or special outings are a good way to create a link between workers. Not to mention that internship during studies have shown better employment after graduating and better adaptation to a new job. In conclusion, new employees who just graduated do not communicate easily with colleagues because of being used to study or work alone. However, some solutions like encouraging team spirit through the company or during the studies, could be a smart manner to resolve this issue.