In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

The relationship between social equality and freedom path for personal success has always been an open-ended debate for publics. While I understand individual merits are important for personal success, I am more inclined to the view that egalitarian societies are prerequisites for individual success. On the one hand, success comes from mixed factors besides personal talents, such as social-economic status and external support. All these factors have addressed the importance of access to resources. Without equal chance accessing to resources, such as job opportunities and educational resources, women would not achieve sheer volume of accomplishment in recent decades. For example, one 18-year-old girl, who is the Stanford undergraduate electrical engineer student and a founder of an AI start-up, has raised 1bn venture fund lately. She might not achievement personal success without being given the equal chance to the top prestigious university in the world and a promised acknowledgement in the landscape, which used to be male-dominated. Obviously, gender equality concept instilled in the public is crucial for women’s success. On the other hand, I understand that critics hold the opinion that talents should have unlimited freedom to exert their abilities and should not be interfered by external parties. One good example to refuse this argument is race or geographical discrimination. Elon Musk. who was born in South Africa, has talent in programming and later chose to immigrate to Canada pursuing futural potential growth. Although he is smart, equal identity recognition and large degree of acceptance to immigrants from society have play an important part in his successful life journey. In conclusion, personal merits are important to help people succeed but equal access to resources and a society with deeply instilled value of equalitarian is prerequisite for talents to exert their merits.