Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at universities in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society

In the last decade, more and more students prefer to take art subjects instead of science at universities. This is due to the fact that science subjects are considered boring and do not appeal to young people. In addition, they believe that these subjects are difficult to score. Therefore, the impacts on communities are that there will be a lack of science experts in the country and foreigners are needed to work in sectors involving science and technology. First and foremost, boredom is the main reason youngsters refuse to take up science major at universities. It is said that science subjects are dull and difficult to comprehend. For example, survey shows that majority of young Turkish prefer to major in the art fields. This is because they believe that they could do better in these fields than science. Consequently, the number of students who register in art sectors increases dramatically over the last few years, while science field saw a significant decrease. The implications of these on the communities are that there would be insufficient number of science experts among the locals and the country has to rely on foreign workers to work in science and technology related jobs. In other words, with the influx art graduates in the job market, there will be a shortage of those who could work in science sector. Hence, the country is forced to hire foreigners. Take for instance, most locals in Saudi Arabia choose to do art related subjects at tertiary level. As a result, the government has to recruit foreign workers to work as doctors, nurses and engineers in the country. In conclusion, the high level of difficulty in science subjects and being bored with them are the main contributing factors why students prefer to take up art subjects at universities. Thus, these lead to the decrease in the number of local experts in science field and force a country to take foreigners to work in this field.