Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

In many countries around the world, drugs such as cocaine and heroin are prohibited while alcohol and cigarettes sale is allowed. Many consider tobacco and alcoholic drinks drugs as well, defending that laws should be banning these items too, being applied to all drugs. In my view, despite I believe alcohol and tobacco cause damages to its consumers, it should not be banned, but still limited, because its still part of many societies' culture. It is proven that hard drugs consumption can irreversibly damage an individual's life. The effects that heroin and cocaine can cause in the human body, for example, not only affects their organs but also leads a high addiction, making users being dependents of these chemicals to function mentally and physically. A high level of addiction often impacts the person's function, impeding them to work, socialize and look after themselves. Additionally, people that surround addicts such as family and partners also suffer phycological and material consequences. The damage cause by hard drugs usage is huge, thus, governments established laws to ban those chemicals from society. On the other hand, the consumption of tobacco and alcohol can damage a person's life similarly. While a high consumption of cigarettes cause different types of cancer and heart deceases, alcohol addiction leads to other deceases, domestic violence and mental health conditions such as depression. Both items can also leads to high addiction. However, they are more inserted in human's culture since the old eras, being associated with socialization and relaxation. The government can create laws to strict cigarettes and alcoholic drinks while promoting healthier habits, but banning those items may cause negative reactions. That is why, in my opinion, prohibiting these items is not effective. In conclusion, governments prohibiting items considered drugs such alcohol and tobacco at the same level as hard drugs it is not a effective solution. This is because its still part of people's culture to consume these items so they part of the population can reprove it.