Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that watching a TV and playing video games are not beneficial for the mental health of children. I strongly agree with the statement because spending excessive amount of time on watching TV instils the negative thoughts into a child's brain, and online gaming prevents children from having physical activities that are important for their mental growth. Spending a longer period of time on TV means remaining attuned to the flow of information being depicted. This teaches children the bad and good aspects of the society. Moreover, children's minds are more vulnerable, and they are at an impressionable age. So, they are unable to differentiate the good and bad things that they watch from a TV, leading their minds towards imbibing negative aspects such as robbery, nudity, crimes and so on. Such negative learnings inhibits a childs' mental growth due to the lackness of positive mindset. For example, those children who watch more TV, specifically age restricted videos, and lack support from their parents are less likely to maintain their mental health under control. The primary reason why playing video games is not helpful for the mental health of children is the lack of physical movement. Sitting on a chair for prolonged period prevents children from performing outdoor games and other activities that are imperative for the mental health. These days children spend excessive amount of time on playing computer games, which not only lacks the mental growth but also an overall development of a child. For instance, it is scientifically proved that any kind of physical exercises helps us improve mental wellbeing. Thus, I think that watching a TV and playing online games are not beneficial for the mental health of youth. In conclusion, although watching a TV and playing video games may seem important for the growth of children, I think that performing these activities for a longer period of time is not beneficial for a child's mental wellbeing because a TV caters negative aspects of the society, and sitting for over hours means lack of phyical exercises that are vital for the mental health.