The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The surge in numbers of children becoming obese is significant in western countries, and it is a matter of concern for the government and parents. This essay will delve into the reasons behind this cause and will discuss adverse effects of this problem. No one cast a shadow of doubt on increase in number of overweight children, the prime factors behind this circumstances are unhealthy dietary habits and least physical activity. In other words, nowadays, youngsters prefer more junk foods with oit and sugars over eating healthy; as a result, individual gains weight. Alternatively, due to poverty parents are unable to provide healthy meals and child has to rely on cheaper food like chips and burgers. Nevertheless, due to pervasive use of smart devices off-springs avoid physical games, this results in a sedentary lifestyle On the other hand, sedentary lifestyle further results in a disease like diabetes type 2, obesity and thyroid. Moreover, obese child is at greater risk of mental illness and bullies. To explain, a child with overweight feels dissatisfied with his body, and their self confidence starts to decline. In schools and other places other kids bullies by calling them fat and so more. Eventually, this leads to a isolation or overeating. Furthermore, in obese person heart has to work harder to maintain blood flow in entire body; due to this, obesity leads to a fatal heart disease. Treatment of heart disease also creates burden on the government, as the government has to fund a treatment of a child. To conclude, The major reasons behind increasing number of overweight children are unhealthy dietary habits and lack of exercise. Eventually, this results in a lifelong and fatal diseases and denying self-esteem of a child and it burdens the legislation.