More and more city workers are deciding to live in the country and travel into work every day. The result is increased traffic congestion and damage to the environment. What measures do you think could be taken to encourage people not to travel such long distances into work?

In these modern days, some individuals choose to live in the suburban and go to work by long distances every single day, resulting in traffic jam and produce more air pollution. In this essay, I will discuss the possible solutions to suggest people not to commute such long journey to work. One of the the biggest issue, that caused this is the surge of property prices in the urbans. Consequently, the price of household rent is too expensive for most of the city workers. Furthermore, it's cheaper to travel back and forth from the countryside instead of live in the city. Even though it's exhausting to travel in such distances, it's the only choice they have. Possible solutions to tackle this problem are for govenment to provide more affordable household rent and control the surge of residences prices in the city. Government need to limit the number of properties ownership. In Indonesia, older generations think that house ownership are the best investment. Therefore, the quantity of household are more limited, thus the increased prices. The other solution is for corporate, providing an option to work remotely, and not oblige urban workers to work in the office. By the event of COVID-19 a lot of office workers had to work from home, because of this the traffic in Jakarta are more smooth and the amount of pollution is decreased. In conclusion, this kind of issue are complex and need several group to solve this problem. I believe that, the cooperation of government to control households and corporate to bring more flexible work arrangement would encourage people not to travel far distances into work.