Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people think it is necessary, but others are of the opinion that it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is generally agreed that the higher is the level of employee’s responsibility, the higher his salary should be. However, some disagree with this statement, emphasising that ordinary workers often contribute to the company’s success even more than white collars, so there should be no gap between incomes. This essay will explore both perspectives, although I personally support the former. The idea of paying more to directors is based on the fact that managers are typically more skilled, professional and well-rounded than their subordinates, consequently, their level of prosperity is deserved. To cite an example, if a person wants to to climb up the ladder, he usually needs to graduate from a prestigious university, than work on low-level positions to gain some experience, than take more responsibilities and commence his duties with full commitment. Building such a career requires a lot of time and enormous efforts, hence, I believe it is fair to pay more to those who managed to go through this way. Additionally, being more experienced than low-skilled workers, directors are barely replaceable, so it is in the company’s interest to offer them a good salary and valuable perks in order to encourage them to stay. The opponents of this approach may argue that staff members also deserve to be well-paid, since many of them work round-the-clock in order to achieve corporate goals. Furthermore, it is an ordinary worker who produces goods or services that bring the company profit. For instance, if there were no salesmen or delivery men, such affluent corporations as Amazon or Walmart would not exist. Accordingly, it may be said that regular employees have a right to receive equal compensation to their leaders. However, I firmly believe that salary based on experience and the level of responsibilities is more reasonable than just the same payment to everyone. Without financial incentives, workers may lack motivation to grow, potentially stalling the company's progress. Also, receiving a fair compensation for their knowledge and input, executives are dedicated to make the company prosperous, which in the long run provides conditions to increase the wage for all staff members. To conclude, while some assume that chiefs should not get higher income than non-executive employee, I disagree with this view. In my opinion, since substantial income comes with skills, dedication and responsibility, managers’ high salaries are well-deserved.