Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions about asking personal information for people applying jobs. Some people, including me, believe this information may be relevant and useful, whereas others disagree. The main upside of asking these questions can be offering new facilities, recreational objects or different opportunities based on the hobbies or interests of employees. This means that, gathering this information helps realize most favorite hobbies among employees. For example, Rotch Company in Iran has considered different pool vouchers and tennis courts as a gift for encouraging competent personnel. This lead to job satisfaction and a strong band among employees and the employer. Furthermore, this option can be helpful for realizing employees ’ traits and personalities. Due to the fact that some people prefer teamwork and they are good at communication skills, in addition others prefer solo activities and can adapt efficiently if they work individually. Some careers included marketing and sales need good communication skills in contrast, others such as laboratory supervisors may need to be alone to carry out their tasks. As a result of these personalities, employees of the company may succeed a step ahead. One of the downsides of asking personal questions is qualifications and skills must be more important than private data for employers. Personal information can effect a false impact on employers’ decisions. For instance, in Iran, there is not sufficient insight into some people who have got divorced or others listening to tracks of rap music. This information may give rise to adverse effects on employers’ concepts. Another disadvantage can be discrimination which will appears in workplace. As a result of personal data, each person private details can be proven. For example, some people who live in the suburb may feel difference among them self and peer colleagues. Therefore, it may cause job dissatisfaction. In conclusion, although asking for personal questions from people applying for jobs could be detrimental due to a negative impact on the manager and discrimination in a workplace, I believe that due to being familiar with suitable employment and efficient facilities, its advantages is more significant.