These days many young people are spending less time doing outdoor activities such as hiking, mountain climbing, and enjoying nature. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage them to do more of these activities? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is a fact that today’s children represent the future prosperity for our societies. However, children nowadays are growing less and less interested toward all sorts of physical demanding activities especially the outdoors ones such as hiking, climbing mountains and the simplest forms of nature enjoyment. In the next paragraphs, the reasons for this developing crisis and the ways to antagonize it will be discussed. As technological innovations and different social media applications continue to dominate our modern realities. It becomes important for us to reveal the catastrophic effects occurring upon our young ones. Children are being subjected to unhealthy addiction patterns revolving around the usage of their high-tech devices combined with its social media applications. Which makes them dependent on short and frequent dopamine bursts for their whole rewarding cognitive system. Satisfaction then, even pleasure, are not to be reached by any natural means as long as they get what they are looking for from the virtual world. As a result, a sedentary lifestyle is the final outcome. Homes are becoming cages for children preferring the stay rather than exploring nature. Unfortunately, our young are dissociating and growing apart from nature, and soon they will become like aliens to nature. Societal reformations and proper media usage will be handful to tackle such growing disease within our children. The role of parental guidance and their active inclusion into their children ’s daily routine will be pivotal to resolve this widely spreading phenomenon. Parents must get proactively involved in promoting the significance of outdoor activities to their young. Also, screen time should be made limited or as a treat after a short hiking session. Societies, on the other hand, should arrange contests such as marathons and mountain climbing events directed to children with symbolic rewards every now and then to encourage them to connect their mother nature. To conclude, Technological development and evolution are coming with a huge toll on our children. The physical aspect and our ways of appreciating what nature provides us should be carried on by the future generations. Such untimely loss of innocence to virtual realities will affect the future bond between us, humans, and nature.