People have different views on how to reduce traffic congestion. Some think that governments should build more train and subway lines, while others think that building more roads and widening existing roads will reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing opinions about how to solve traffic jam. Some say that the solution to jammed traffic is by increasing the routes of public transportations, while others view that it is better for government to build new roads and widen existing roads. This essay agrees that the problem of congesting traffic can be tackled by making mass transportation become reachable across more areas. Raising the number of train and subway lines will enable the mass transportations to reach more citizens. As more people would be accommodated, less people would be using the roads and instead opt in for the mass transportations, when the routes they headed for existed. It is therefore agreed that investing in more transportation lines would lessen traffic jam. For example, Singapore's government notes that traffic in central Singapore is reduced by 10% since the opening of additional 12 Singapore's subway lines. However, some people think that constructing more roads and enlarging existing roads is a better solution that more roads can accommodate more vehicles. Nowadays, the ownership of personal vehicles keeps increasing in major cities and it must be balanced with the raise of roads construction and capacity. However, it is still difficult to avoid traffic jams, since even the largest personal vehicles would still not be able to take up as many people as public transportations would. For instance, in general, large cars can accommodate a maximum of 6 people, whereas a single carrier of train has a maximum capacity of 50 people. In conclusion, although both solutions can play a role in reducing traffic congestion, equipping public transportations with new routes would work better in resolving traffic problems, acknowledging that train and subway can fit a way larger number of people in its carriages.