⁷Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

As has been commonly acknowledged, many people consider that university students should study whatever subjects they prefer. However, a small group of people submit that students should only learn those subjects that are considered useful in the future. This essay will unfold both strands of argument and offer my own insights into the debate. For those who posit that the objective of education is always to prepare students for their prospective career, it is essential for colleges and universities to provide skills and knowledges that would help in job seeking. Therefore, subjects related to science and technology, which could directly affect social developments, should assume the paramount importance in education. The opponents of this statement, however, believe that the knowledges which may not have a practical value are equally critical. Moreover, young people should be left free to choose what interest them the most. Personally, I find myself concurring with the latter group for a number of reasons. Firstly, I believe that the ultimate goal of education is to achieve self-fulfillment. Each of us can excel in the field that we are passionate about. Hence, juveniles should not be limited in terms of their choices. Second, different skills can contribute to society in distinctive ways, with some being less obvious. Litrature, for instance, nurtures our spirits, while philosophy guides our life and self-reflection. Moreover, it is worth noting that the so-called useful areas can not advance without fundamental developments in these fields. On these premises, I contend that students should be able to choose and study what attract and inspire them, and universities should bear the responsibility of offering a wide range of opportunities.