Health services are a basic necessity. However, private companies have made them quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages?

Private health services are getting less reachable, due to the priced medicines, decreased public support, and higher cost in hospitals. While those services usually ensure the quality and further research, this essay strongly believes that its disadvantages are more impactful than the advantages. One advantage for this phenomenon is that additional cost proves the high quality of the service. In other words, treatments with lower costs can be questionable for its safeness. For example, medicine with lower cost usually has shorter and smaller effects compared to the same type of medicine that prices. Another advantage is that by setting the cost higher, further development in the medical industry can be expected. This is because the more expensive the service is, the more budget is prepared for the industry to continue research. However, while the quality and future development of the medical services are important, accessibility to private health care outweighs those advantages. Private health treatments can be the only services people take in the rural areas. Thus, it is paramount to keep the expense reasonable for ordinary citizens. Not only because the living area can limit the entrance to medical care, preparing private services in general is essential. Since illness can be treated differently by each doctor, it’s better to prepare several options to reach in case one of the services does not match the patient. For instance, the words “second opinion” is getting common in Japan to emphasise the importance of asking for different opinions from other medical institutions. In conclusion, private health services must keep their prices lower to ensure ordinary citizens’ accessibility. While costed services can easily maintain their quality and have possibility to seek for future development, ensuring access to the medical care for those living in the countryside and preparing opportunities for “second opinion” in general is far more crucial.