Some people think that all university students should study whether they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss these views and give your own opinions.

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Generally, university students learn subjects that are considered helpful for future job positions during study time. Moreover, these subjects are always planned by universities for students. This argument that whether students should be able to select their subjects in given fields of study by themselves, according to their own passion and enthusiasm, is both supported and refuted by many. This essay will analyse both sides of this argument before declaring a position. On the one hand, many are of the opinion that students need to be able to choose their own subjects at university. For example, personally, I have always got my best scores in my favourite subjects during my bachelor degree. Conversely, I have gotten my worst scores in subjects that I hated. Therefore, it makes it clear that when students elect their own subjects, they can go for the ones they are interested in. This passion brings along much motivation. Furthermore, the resulting motivation causes their future career success in society. While this motivation contributes to improved future results, it is unlikely that all students will have adequate insight into the future job market needs.