Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this current era, some recruiters from human resources development (HRD) consider that educational qualifications are essential compared to practical experience when they are recruiting new workers. This essay will demonstrate the underlying reasons why pursuing formal education is still needed to support someone in the process of recruitment. On the one hand, the basic need of recruitment applies educational background to measure the starting point of employment to fit the requirements. This condition has led to a belief that achieving an educational degree is required in the workforce to prove that someone has been qualified for a certain skill and knowledge. For example, a vacancy for an accountant is different for those who only graduated from university and those who possessed a special certification such as Chartered Accountants (CA). On the other hand, there is an argument that a certain job can be done only by fulfilling an experience qualification. For example, a need for a diver in a drilling company, people who have just graduated from a secondary school and possess a diving certificate can compete with those who come from the oceanography field. However, their position will remain stable for years without any progression to a higher level of job position. Graduating from a higher level of education is a crucial need to achieve clear imagery in pursuing a ladder job. This occurs because HRD requires a set of criteria for every higher stage of occupation’s position which is not only a professional experience but also a set of knowledge to involve in management. This condition formed an exclusivity on problem-solving, leadership, and commitment which is in line with the future development of the industry. People who possess a university qualification tend to have In conclusion, when considering a professional career in the future, possessing a formal education is an obligation that we also need to prepare for a range of experiences to stand out in the job field.