The best way that a government can reduce the traffic congestion in cities is to provide public transport free of cost to people 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that the optimal solution for reducing urban traffic congestion is to offer free public transportation around the clock; However, personally, I disagree with this idea because making transit free in country like India, can be exhausting in every manner. To begin with, there are few benefits of 24/7 free transportation which will truly benefit people while travelling. For instance, travelling will be less time consuming for commuters who live far from their workplace, due to which roads will be less crowded and will be accessible to other commuters. Additionally, its a cheaper option, therefore, people who are less fortunate will be able to commute easily as well. On the contrary, it may seem like a good idea but it have other significant drawbacks. For instance, cost of free transit will effect the national budget, which will be exhausted for government to continue, and this will effect nation economically as well. Additionally, large crowd will be travelling, hence, it wont be comfortable for every traveller. To conclude, from arguments and example given, i firmly believe that providing this service will not be as successful as it seems; However, the national budget should be utilized in construction and improvement of transportation system, such as roads, or railways systems. Moreover, government should encourage companies to move rural areas to provide employement opportunity, Because of this people will not commute to urban areas for job opportunites. This can reduce traffic flow and promise equal development in different regions of country.