Some people think that food is one of the most fundamental economic products and should be mostly produced by each country for its own consumption, with only minimal export of products to other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

It is believed that importing and exporting play a key role in the economic growth of countries and trading food is a part of it. However, it is argued that authorities should limit food transaction for domestical consumption ’s benefit. The following essay will express my negative orientation towards this statement along with several supporting reasons. In the modern era, the globalization of markets has increased in all over the world and every country, whether developed or developing one, tried to possess the big portion of global markets. Therefore, the agricultural trade is one of these vital areas in which authorities utilize it to expand their export and prosper their economy. Besides, one of the criteria of economic growth is the rate of exporting and importing annually. This revenue could assist in the development of country and be spent in other different areas, such as hygiene and education. For example, Iran is famed for saffron, so government in addition to other revenue, such as gas and oil trading, benefits from the outcome of transaction of saffron. The second reason is the diverse conditions of countries. Due to the different climate or situations of states, such as overpopulation, harvesting necessary and sufficient nutrition is definitely impossible, so authorities have to import some products to meet citizens’ needs and curb scarcity in states. For example, United Arab Emirates is a dry and hot country which does not have proper soil or weather to plant wheat or rice, so trading is a practical way for them to solve this principal problem. Otherwise, the price of essential necessity, which is food, would dramatically rise, afterward, the country will face other issues, such as emigration of citizens. All in all, trading agricultural goods is a necessity in some regions. In conclusion, global trading is a key factor in fostering economical satisfaction of a country. Despite the fact that every state tries to produce the food consumption of their citizens, they also tend to allocate their excessive productions to proportions of global trade to enhance their economy which is a win-win situation for both countries.