Nowadays. Children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has numerous benefits, however, excessive use of it can lead to chronic health conditions, particularly in younger generation. Therefore, many people think that children should stay away from using these electronic gadgets, moreover, I completely agree that the use of gadgets such as mobile phones, TVs and video games are harmful. Firstly, frequent use if electronic items can lead to impaired social skills. To be more specific, a child would spend prolonged hours at home while playing online or watching television, hindering the ability of face-to-face interaction. Secondly, excessive screen time could possibly result in mental disorders such as depression and anxiety. In fact, WHO has found a correlation between screen time and increasing depression. Lastly, children tend to sit at one place for longer period of time while watching or playing which promotes sedentary lifestyle. There are numerous downsides doing these activities, however, there are benefits as well. To begin with, watching TV can foster creativity. For example, educational programs and informative channels can broaden the thinking and can lead to innovative ideas. Additionally, it enhances skills such as multitasking and decision- making as one tends to make critical decisions while playing onine. In conclusion, usage of electronic devices have disadvantages such as social isolation, mental issues and sedentary lifestyle. On the other hand there are some advantages such as increased creativity, multitasking and decision- making skills. Parents and teachers should monitor and limit the activities for the child's wellbeing.