Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on thic task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays, there are a large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets? What effect is this having on the society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience, Write at least 250 words.

Over the years, there have been an increase in the number of coffee shops and fast-food outlets in town centres and on high streets. The reason for this increase, in my opinion, is due to the rapid globalization and western influence on our society. However, this rapid increase in outlets have negatively impacted our community resulting in lower health standards and money saving mentality in our youngsters. This essay briefly discusses the main reasons for this increase and its ill-effects on our society. The first and foremost reason for the rising outlets, as I see it, is due to globalization. Many multi-national giants like Mc Donalds and Starbucks like to enter the local market, targeting the lower middle-class group of people. Their marketing stratergies, especially those of a western lifestyle, have attracted youngsters like never before. This has created a demand for such outlets in our society causing many more to open in a row. Moreover, the purchace parity of our youth has doubled. This has also helped these companies to open more shops. For instance, according to Financial Times, the number of coffee shops in MG Road, Bangalore was 50 in 1990, which has risen to 1500 in the year 2024. As a result of this rapid rise in restaurants, the country as a whole is now suffering. One of the biggest effect because of this societal change is declining health standards. Although the junk food taste amazing, the ingredients used in the making of such products are of sub-standard quality and has higher calorie. This has lead to a new pandemic called obesity. As per the predictions of the Food and Drugs Administration of India, three fourth of the country's population will be obese by the end of 2030. In addition to the declining health standards, another main concern is the change in the interpersonal relationships of people. Students, for example, like to spend more time with friends in these cafes, than with their family at home. Furthermore, this change in behaviour has made them spendthrifts. This has not only decreased their savings, but in some cases, this spending culture caused debts. In conclusion, the increase in the coffee shops and fast-food restaurants on our streets due to rapid globalizations and westernization, has caused declining health standards and financial ruin of our youth. Timely intervention by authorities is warrented to save our youth from this menace.