Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is true that the number of traffic jams is getting more and more around a lot of cities in the world because every single person has their own car there are some actions governments can do so that people use less their own car. First, plan traffic, and second, decrease the taxi fares and bus or train costs. Traffic jams have increased in thirty years recently because everyone is buying their own car. People in the past used to live simple and sheltered lives and every family had one car for all number of a family but today in the modern world everyone is getting used to having their own car and also their own house with these changes all people have to work more and are using their own car for going to work or even university the result of these actions is increasing the traffic jam. The solution for solving this issue is increasing the traffic jams governments can firstly, make a traffic plan which means prohibition of cars from traffic areas on even or odd days in this way people can not use their cars on some specific days and can control the amount of traffic. Secondly, decreases the cost of public transportation. When people realize that using public transportation is cheaper they use them without any hesitation. For example, a person who uses their car to go out and see the plane traffic and also less cost of public transportation absolutely prefers to use them. In conclusion, I believe that traffic jams increased dramatically thirty years ago, but governments can decrease that by doing some simple measures that are planning traffic and decreasing the price of public transport.