Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Generally, university students learn subjects which are considered as useful for their future job positions during study time. And these subjects are always planned by universities for students. This argument that whether students should be able to select their subjects in given fields of study by themselves, according to their own passion and enthusiasm, is both supported and refuted by many. This essay will analyse both sides of this argument before declaring a position. On one hand, many are of the opinion that students need to be able to choose their own subjects at university. For example, personally, I have always got my best scores in my favourite subjects during my bachelor degree. Conversely, I have got my worst scores in subjects that I hated. Therefore, it makes it clear that when students elect their own subjects, they can go for the ones that they are interested in. This passion brings along a lot of motivation. And the resulting motivation causes their future career success in society. While, this motivation contributes to improved future results, it is unlikely that all students have adequate insight into the future job market needs. On the other hand, many people are of the belief that students have to study subjects that are viewed as essential by university. Taking top American universities as an instance. We noticed that they have already selected a rigid number of specifics subjects, which are proved to be the most appropriate subjects to be studied for students through years of experience. Thus, it is vividly observed that forcing students to study particular subjects is essentially associated with both students ' success and societies prosperity in the future. Hence, it is of paramount importance for university authorities to interfere with the subjects ' selection pressure. All in all, there has always been debate between two sides of this argument regarding the students ' permission to select their own subjects. Whereas, it might be seen as a favourable idea for students to be able to choose their own subject, I strongly believe that a university faculties are the better agent to make informed decision about these subjects. Eventually, it is suggested that universities provide students with the best possible subjects, considering their own personal taste to some extent as well.