In many countries it is very easy to apply for and be given credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debt they cannot pay back. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although credit cards are easily approved in several countries, however these quick approvals can sometimes lead to the problem of bad debt for banks. This essay will demonstrate how early approvals can generate benefits like liquidity and ease for customers but at the same time can lead to bigger issue such as uncertainity for banks and bad credit score for customers. Whilist acknowledging that there are plenty advantages of this scheme, the essay will argue that the advantages outweigh disadvantages. Due to cut throad competition in finance industry to attract more and more customer, one very famous big bank called icici bank came up with a scheme called "easy apply, quick approvals". this scheme claimed that it won't take more than 5 min for a customer to apply and approve a credit card while sitting at home. This product provided instant liquidity and convinence to many, people now instead of borrowing money from their parents or friends can just apply for credit card on a click. This gave people a sense of financial stability and reduced financial stress of many. However, this sense of financial stability came with a price tag, which people realised quite late. The interest charged on these credit cards were much higher than a personal loan from a bank, which ultimately lead to unability of populance to repay the bank. This unability of repayment not only lead to a bad credit score it also refrains them to get any further loan from a financial authority in the future. Furthermore, this burden of debt effected many mentally and directed many in the wrong direction. To conclude, eventhough credit cards provide numerous benefits to an individual's financial state it also puts a person in a financial distress if unable to make the repayment on time. Hence, the negative effects of this financial product definately outweigh its benefits.