Food travels thousands of miles from producers to customers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. Advantages and disadvantages.

Losgistic Logistics of food normally takes up more than 50% of the food cost as food travels a long way from producers to customers if it is imported. Therefore, some people sugggested that it would benefit the environment and economy if people only eat local food products by local farmers. On the positive aspect, eating local food can help raise the income of local farmers and therefore, benefits the total national economy based on some empirical evidence based research done by scholars. The scholars also suggested that our environment is actually a mirco ecosystem and what comes from the soil will go back to the soil eventually. Thus, eating local products conserve the local environment in theory while consuming imported food products would produce tons of carbon footprints and damage our earth ecosystem. On the other hand, opponents suggested that despite producing carbon footprints, consuming imported products promote global trade business and help improve international trading relationship. Trading has been seen as a type of cultural exchange since the ancient time and Silk road is a very typical representation of it. At the same time, they provided some empirical evidence that consuming food from different attitudes allows the body to intake more various kinds of nutrients and therefore, it help to reduce certain kinds of serious diseases such as heart diseases and cancers. For examples, Chinese people believe that eating mushrooms from high attitude helps to lower blood pressure and eventually lower the chance of heart disease in human. In conclusion, some nutrients can only be found in certain types of food and those food can only be imported. If we wish to balance body health, economy and environment, importation of food should not be banned completely but instead, we can maintain it at a certain level by taxation and laws. Regarding environment and carbon footprint, there are some new electrical transportation methods which can greatly reduce carbon emission and it also lowers the cost of logistics at the same time.