Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, an only offers practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is a common idea that considers philosophy or arts subject inferior to the more scientific ones to the extent of thinking to exclude these studies from the universities, especially in response to the rising fees. This essay strongly disagrees with this statement and supports the contrary by elaborating two main argumentations: the creativity that arts subjects offer and the consequential wide rage of employments it can provide. Over the past years, the scientific education has been addressed as the most appetible path for securing a job position. This because the majority of state and corporate investments believe that economical excellence can be succeded only through practical researches. However, brilliant ideas come from non linear, logic or established thinking patterns. In fact, arts subjects or philosophical topics improve the capacity of students to expand ideas and inventive through a wide range of methods by using tools in an unconventional way. An example is Forensic Architecture, a reasearch hub based in London which uses the knowledge of architecture to give evidence to political and critical cases. Another example that goes back to the Ancient Greek is the relevance of philosophers in the decision making process. At that time philosophers were asked to help the leading politicians to make decisions by providing ethical opinions on any issue the Polis was encountering. Another reason is that arts subjects are underestimated when it comes to talk about employment. It is really frequent to hear that whoever has studied art can work only in the art sector either supporting galleries, museums and exhibition spaces or by producing art pieces. One example that does not confirm such statement is the recent opening of a hub for artists at CERN. This demonstate demonstrate that even quantum phisics need experts in the field of art for elaborating ideas beyond the scientific knowledge. In conclusion, although scientific and practical subjects may maximize the possibility to find a job it should never be forgotten that exceptional ideas for biggest change come from the artistic enviroment.