Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to team how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that parents should encourage their children to participate in organized group works in their spare time, others believe that children should decide how they will make themselves busy. I personally believe that parents should inspire their children to take part in group activities and the ages of the children are not appropriate to take such decision. Group activities help children not only utilizing their free time but also attaining some skills necessary for their future. They learn about organizational skills, time -management skills and showing respect for others in the organized group activities. When these children become adults, these activities help them to act professionally in their professional world. For example, in the UK, an academic research revealed that professionals who are encouraged to work in a group in their childhood perform better in their professional fields than those who did not. Therefore, I believe that parents should encourage their kids to participate in group activities. Children know how to keep themselves busy, however, they do not know how to utilize their time effectively. If they are allowed to take the decision of their own about spending their free time, they might not be able to properly utilize it. They might engage themselves in some unnecessary activities, which can ultimately ruin their future. For instance, in Canada, some school children were given some spare time to utilize according to their wishes, and they spent it on watching YouTube. Therefore, I believe that children's age are not suitable to take such decision. To conclude, parents should decide how their children should spend their free time. Children should be encouraged to utilize them in a timely manner. If they are allowed to take this decision on their own, there might be some drawbacks.