Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Firstly, the view on students should study whatever they like. This point of view are very simple, they want students to choose on their own where they want to pursue, this is an ethical move. The reason people think this way is because they are scared, if a person decide to persue a subject they don' t like, it is more likely for them to drop out of school. There are plenty of examples of students dropping out of school, they realize that they don' t enjoy studying that certain subject simply because it is not suitable for them. Plenty studies report that many students decide to drop out because of their major and studies conducted by various university shown that it is highly accurate. Secondly, students should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future. This point of view is rational too, people who think this way are scared on what if they can' t get a job? What if I cant make for a living? What if I don' t have a house? This people are thinking towards the future, they want to secure a future so they can live well. Some of them put aside their own interest and decide to persue STEM majors, while this is true that such subjects can highly guarantee a fresh graduate to get a job with a high salary. Both of this point of view are important for students to think about. In my opinion, it is mandatory for us to know what subject we like, from there on we can decide what we want to persue. Taking STEM majors doesn' t mean you will succeed in life, if a person forces them self they will likely drop out which makes us go back, what are your intrests? People can succeed despite the major their taking, everything goes back to the person, are they hardworking? Are they persistent? In conclusion, both views have their own reasoning, we as a student need to be open minded and hear from both sides, there are no right or wrong choices.