As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What are the factors that contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Since adults spend the majority of their time at work in order to maintain their living, it is believed that whether employees are satisfied with their jobs is particularly important in considering ones’ individual wellbeing. The primary causes that impact the masses' job satisfaction are the salary and the maintenance of work -life balance. First and foremost, personal job satisfaction is always driven by the salary they can get as well as the personal time they can maintain in their daily lives. For example, if we can get a reasonable salary, we must be more willing to keep working. Vice verse, if the money we get can’t reflect the efforts we pay at work, in other words, what we gain doesn’t equal to what we pay, we will very likely dislike our jobs or even hate them. Besides, work -life balance is also a crucial component of one’s wellbeing. As a human, despite the fact that it is undeniable that working is essential to earn our lives, rest is also indispensable. A good rest will lay the groundwork of a good day. Regarding the interviews of some teachers, it is found that being a teacher, there are always follow-throughs after work. As a result, they usually maintain a low job satisfaction. Consequently, their personal wellbeing is being affected negatively. Moreover, when talking about the realist of workers’ expectation of job satisfaction, it seems that it is in a low level. It is difficult to fulfill all people’s satisfaction in jobs as everyone has an own ruler when considering whether they enjoy the work or not. Some may like their job because of the aforementioned work -life balance lifestyles, while some may satisfied with their works due to the admission of effort pay they can gain through working. In addition, there may be controversies among the employees and employers. Owing to the above reasons, it is not realistic that all the workers can gain their expected job satisfaction through the jobs. To sum up, although job satisfaction is a vital part of one’s own wellbeing undoubtedly, there are several lenses impacting the job satisfaction, and it may come out that it is merely a delusion that the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers can be fulfilled