The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Hollywood largely influenced other film industries across the world. Thus, it is believed that the central government ought to invest capital for production of local films to safegaurd the culture, and represent it globally. I agree with this notion, considering the fact that every nation has its own identity, language, morals and values that are inculcated into films. Further, investment in domestic production houses bring worldwide recognition; contributing to the national GDP and generating employment opportunities. First and foremost, the cultural representation of every country is essential because the languages, morals and values are different for different nationalities. For instance, Amercians have varied culutral values than Chinese, and the language and dialect is very different between the people of two nationalities. Movies and shows are a major source of entertainment for individuals. Thus, they play an important role in development of the country and the government should help promoting culture through films. Additionally, in order to attract wider audience, globalization of local talent in crucial, as not only does it increase the country's GDP but also creates new employment opportunities. For example, Bollywood is the second renowned industry after Hollywood, and ever since achieving a global status, Bollywood has helped in development of India in all aspects. Consequently, as more and more movies are released, more crew is required. Hence, this helps in revenue generation. In conclusion, in my opinion, the government should be accountable for promoting local productions. Films represent cultures and protect them for newer generations. Furthermore, they also sustain representation of talents on international platforms, benefiting the economy as well.