More and more people and organizations are using digital technology for contact with other people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using digital technology for communication?

The influence of digital technology on communication among individuals and organizations is exponentially increasing year by year. While certain people argue that there are various positive outcomes, others argue that the negative potential of it cannot be simply ignored. In this essay, I'l be discussing both advantages and disadvantages and will state my overall opinion. On one hand, technology improves the overall communication and efficiency of information transfer. Firstly, it reduces the time in which a piece of information could be transferred from one point to another while completely eradicating the necessity for a physical transfer. For example, during 80s and 90's it would have probably taken at least a week or two for regular mail to be hand-delivered from the point of origin to its destination. However, the electronic mail system is capable of transferring similar information securely and efficiently within a few milliseconds. In addition, it eliminates the necessity for a physical storage to store the data which minimizes the use of a paper-based work environment. Moreover, the virtual space collectively improves the collaboration of individuals and organizations efficiently to progress with minimal friction. On the other hand, the cost of maintaining and upgrading these communication systems are very expensive while a collapse in networks could lead to stagnation of work. The significant increase in harvested and stored data by organizations in cloud storage could be potentially breached by hackers which could lead to the theft of sensitive data and expensive lawsuits. In addition,the communication between individuals could be easily collected and used for manipulation by technology companies leading to polarization and conflicts. For instance, Facebook, Instagram and other social media platforms have been accused multiple times by their users for abusing their personal data. The negative outcomes raise a concern for the ethical usage of these systems in long-term progress. In my conclusion, I state that the modern communication's overall efficiency and the ability to scale should be appreciated for both work and individual purposes, while the drawbacks cannot be ignored until the potential threats are resolved.