Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Nowadays,the number of people using cars has been significantly increasing especially,in the last three decades.Since cars were developed,they became one of the most popular method of transportation due to their convenience causing traffic jams.The following paragraphs will be discussed as to whether this is true and the solutions to this problem. It is true to say that traffic jams are one of the major problems in many countries.Capital cities or the cities where people are crowded has suffered the most. For instance,in my city traveling three kilometers can take an hour to commute during rush hour. Consequently,the incidence of transportation accidents is a clear evidence of this problem because it has been accumulated rapidly owing to a growing number of car owners. The ways to cope with this problem require multiple methods. Firstly,in order to persuade car users to take public transportation,the government should improve this system so that it is easily accessible and the price is affordable. Additionally,Increasing the taxes on car purchases and the taxes on cars entering capital cities are also beneficial pushing them toward public transportation. Moreover,expanding the civilization to nearby cities so there is no necessity to transport resulting in decreasing number of housing residents which lead to decrease number of cars. To summarize,it can be seen clearly that the number of cars has been rising rapidly and the government can deal with this problem by improving public transportation,increasing taxes and expanding civilization.