Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Education is an inseparable part of every individual and influences diverse spheres of life. Recently, it has been a controversial issue whether studying other additional subjects in addition to their school curriculum is a good idea. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and reveal my orientation towards this statement. On the one hand, opponents believe that additional curriculums deviate students ’ attention from major school lessons. To put it differently, every extra lesson and course requires the dedication of time and energy. Hence, students should decrease their allocating time to school subjects to practice those extra courses and classes. Consequently, they cannot efficiently study and pass their courses and also it is far likely to be failed and even not to finish their academic education. For example, I remember the time when I enrolled in three excess classes, music, volleyball, and dance class. Despite the fact that I had been always a top student, my marks dramatically decreased in that educational year. On the other hand, proponents argue that school subjects are vital but not sufficient. To elaborate, students need other skills which are essential in this era, such as ICDL, Yoga and marketing as well, to be successful in their careers and personal life. Hence, their future is not summarized into just academic education, they should learn how to work with state-of-the-art equipment, to be healthy and develop financial management. For example, if pupils who just learn physics, math and biology do not become an expert in financial management, they will definitely struggle with hard situations. In conclusion, there is no doubt that academic education is a crucial factor to students. However, dedicating some time to study further subjects is vital too. I believe that students should enroll in other excess classes to foster their skills.