In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

There is a noticeable difference in schools and universities students, where female students tend to pick arts subjects, whereas male students pick science subjects. This essay will try to identify the reason for this phenomenon and to discuss the continuity of this trend. One of the reasons can be explained by the fact that the stigma around people is that unlike women, men are more capable and expert on science subjects. This gender disparity has been shaped into our society that makes women doubt their own abilities and skill. For instance, many jobs require a male candidate to occupy a challenging position. As a result, women started to change their career path from the beginning, focusing more on arts subjects since they couldn’t see a viable career in male dominating positions. Additionally, women who focus their interest in an arts subject also have these incredible careers. To illustrate, lately the fashion design industry is dominated by female workers that significantly make an impact for this world. This situation shouldn’t be overlooked because over time this will lead to gender disparities. Started by a discrimination in schools and universities based on subject then later on to professional work. This trend was abolished in the past and we as a young generation should not make this viable anymore. Men and women have their own rights to choose their interests and future career. This cannot be divided by gender. We must encourage everyone to study what they are passionate about and make a significant impact on the world. In conclusion, this trend happens because of the long stigma that shaped society regarding the difference in ability of men and women. These trends should be changed because it will lead to gender disparities. We can empower everyone to explore their interests without hesitation.