Some food travels long distance from the producers to the consumers. Some people believe that it is better for the environment and economy if people only buy food produced by local farmers. Do you think the advantages of this idea would outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, quite many food is brought a long distance from the producers to the consumers. It is a belief that it is better for the environment as well as for the economy if people only buy locally produced food. On the one hand, there are a lot of benefits, if people obtain food and other goods from local farmers. Firstly, the food is much more fresh compared to imported one, as there is no need to travel long distance to reach the consumers. Besides, the food is healther healthy as well, as no preservatives are required to keep the food fresh for a longer time. Secondly, the food is cheaper, as there are no additional transportation costs. Moreover, in such way the local economy is supported. In addition, less travelling means less environmental polution. On the other hand, there are quite many disadvantages of such approach. It is clear that local farmers cannot ensure the variety of the production. For instance, coffee, tea, many fruits and vegetables can be grown only in a particular climate zone. If such goods cannot be imported, it means that the consumers from other regions never get it. Also, there might be cases when local farmers are not able to fullfil the need of local population, for example, due to negative weather conditions, when majority of a harvest is damaged. In summary, there are advantages as well as disadvantages for idea of buying food only locally. In my opinion, the more food people obtain locally, the better it is for the environment, population health and local economy. However, it is not possible to fullfil all consumers ' needs by only having local products. Therefore, advantages of this idea still do not outweigh the disadvantages.