Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation.

Women is facing hard times to getting jobs. Even, women representation in tech jobs just around 20 per cent, which is a really small percentage. I suggest that the main causes is the job requirements itself. However, there is a way to solve this problem by giving a chance to women to work in this kind of jobs. As people can see, sometimes the job requirements are impossible to fulfill for women workers. In job tech, many tech companies require male workes to fill in the position. They think that women is not as strong as man to do the jobs and more suitable for man. For example, one of job vacancy in XYZ (one of tech companies in Indonesia) that I found on LinkedIn was looking for a smart guy worker. If there is a female candidate, then she must be single, and this is such a discriminating. Our society can resolve this problem by open wider opportunities for women to enter the tech industry. This solution can open many chances for women to thrive and show their skills in tech companies. Then, the good news is, it can breaks the stigma that women do not fit in tech industry, otherwise women can be an expert. For instance, Unilever has a program that called "WULF (Women in Engineering Unilever Leadership Fellowship" and this is a special program for women to work in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) field. To sum up, job requirements become a main problem why women can not work in tech companies. Nevertheless, by giving chance to women to enter the industry, it will enlarge the percentage of women who work in tech jobs.