Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opi

Nowadays, university education has become a topic of considerable debate. Some people argue that the student should be restricted to study a few useful subjects in the future such as science or technology, while others think that the student should have a freedom to choose what they want to study. I think that the students should have a free choice to select any subjects that they want to learn in the university.  The proposal of studying limited subjects in the university has its own merits. People believe that learning high demand subjects gives more job opportunities after graduation. This is why people more incline to hold this view. As an example, when considering the Australian job market, most of the high pay occupations such as doctors, engineers, IT analysis are based on science or technology streams and most of the research data revealed that the diffrence between studying these subjects and history or art subjects.  Others disagree and say it is a human right that student should have opportunity to study or change the subjects. They believe that if a student is not good at a subject but the authorities force him to study, it can cause detrimental effects on his studies. For instance, some universities make compulsory to study history but most of the students do not attend the classes and ultimately they fail the subject. This is a huge waste of money and time of both students and the staff. Therefore, student should have a freedom to study anything they prefer.  In conclusion, both views have their own merits but I believe the university students should have more freedom of choice to select which subject they want to study in the univeristy because, studying unfavour subjects lead them unsuccessful in their academic jurney.