The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

An increasing production rate of consumer goods has clear negative implications for the environment. Some underlying reasons for this phenomenon are overconsumption and rising carbon emissions, and remedying this situation requires initiative from both governments and individuals. One of the main drivers of human-induced environmental damage is overconsumption. Prompted by rising income levels, advertising, and social expectations, people today buy in surplus, creating more demand for goods. As a result, resources are exploited to meet this growing demand, which leads to resource depletion and abuse of natural landscapes such as forests. This leaves Earth’s natural reserves drained and forests naked, ridding flora and fauna of their homes. In light of this issue, raising public awareness of the consequences of overconsumption should be the first resort. This can be done through social media campaigns showing images of environmental tragedy brought on by human greed. Witnessing harm inflicted on nature would implore people to be environmentally conscious and be mindful consumers. Increased production also triggers an overwhelming release of carbon into the atmosphere. This is because most production processes in plants and factories are fossil fuel-based, so are the vehicles used to move goods around the world like trucks and ships. These two emit carbon dioxide as a by-product, adding to global warming. This phenomenon, in turn, causes wildfires, flooding, habitat loss, as well as driving rare animal and plant to the point of extinction. To counter this situation, government has to step in and make critical changes. One such change would be incentivizing sustainable business practices through subsidies and tax exemptions while imposing green taxes and quotas on major polluters. This so-called carrot or stick approach is sure to lower carbon footprint created by main carbon producers. In conclusion, environmental harm caused by the growing production of consumer goods can be tied to overconsumption and excessive discharge of carbon gases. Having known this, informing people on the side-effects of consumerism and encouraging governments to make necessary policy changes would be the right courses of action.