Universities should provide students with the skills they will require in order to succeed at their future jobs. How far do you agree or disagree with the above opinion? What are some of the job skills that employers look for in new employees?

Some people believe that success at work is easier to achieve if students learn the competencies they will further need in university. From my point of view, people who are able to develop skills at college have more chances of becoming what they want to be. As a graduate, I can tell from my own experience that not always what is taught in lessons is useful, as well as having to study random data for exams, for example knowing all the elements of the periodic table and their values, which implies spending a lot of time learning information that I consider is super accessible and no one really remembers once the degree ends. All the time wasted on trying to remember random data could be used for learning real skills like how to use correctly laboratory machines. Consequently, I strongly agree that professors should focus their lessons on providing real and daily knowledge in order to facilitate integration in future jobs. On the other hand, employers are mainly looking for graduates who are willing to work and keep learning, not just individuals who have been taught the same year after year and are not able to think by themselves. Furthermore, some of the principal skills that are most wanted nowadays are creativity and problem-solving, both are developed over the years by facing real and challenging problems. These two are not easy to find as most students while doing their degrees focus on passing exams rather than gaining knowledge. As a result, the employment market is filled with thousands of people who do not satisfy the requirements that companies look for. To summarize, I firmly believe that educational structures should be modified in order to create better professionals.