As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

There is no doubt that most adults spend their majority of time working, hence the level of satisfaction and enjoyment at work has a great impact in one’s overall life quality. In my opinion, personal interest and the level of achievement contributes most to whether the person is enjoying their work. However, realistically, not everyone is able to get a job of their choice, it depends on one’s ability and what resources that they have got. Firstly, personal interest contributes a big part to the level of enjoyment at work. People who are able to work in the field of their interest often find job tasks easier and time would pass quicker for them to finish work. For example, if a person who hate animals but they have to work in a zoo, feeding and looking after different types of animals for long hours every day, their level of happiness at work would be very low compared to another person who love animals. Another factor of job satisfaction would be the level of achievement. Sometimes, even though a person is not working in what they are interested in but it is what they are good at and they achieved a high level of success, such as earning a high amount of commission and salary or being the leader of the company. Although satisfactory and enjoyment level at work is essential for one’s life quality, not everyone is lucky enough to work in a job that they enjoyed and has a high level of attainment. The most significant reason would be a person ’s ability to reach the job requirement. For instance, a person maybe very interested to become a doctor and think that saving lives would be their life goal, however, they may not be able to achieve the academic requirement to study medical science in University so they would never be qualified as a doctor. Moreover, sometimes it also depends on one’s resources to whether they can get a job that they would like. To illustrate, if the person is the main income source for their family, they may need to work in a job that can earn high salary but not a job that they liked. To conclude, personal interest and the level of achievement at work are important for people’s overall life quality. Nevertheless, not everyone is lucky enough to get the ideal job based on their ability and resources.