Food travels thousands of miles from producers to customers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. Advantages and disadvantages.

In today's world, some part of society thinks that it is better for nature and the economy if people only consume locally grown food by farmers rather than eating food travelled from far away. This essay will discuss both the merit and demerit points associated with the notion. It is indubitable that the consumption of local food has numerous advantages for the environment and economy. To begin with, opting for local food products can support atmosphere by lessening the transportation required to bring the food produced from other regions. This transportation heavily depends on fossil fuel and emits carbon dioxide in the nature, which contributes to the factors of global warming. Furthermore, farmers have to huge chunk of their money on transporting their produce from farms to the distributors. As a result, their profit becomes neglegible. Thus, individuals should be largely depend on local produces to support nature and the economy. However, it has some disadvantages as well. Firstly, every landfill of the world does not have tendency to perform farming activities due to severe whether conditions and scarcity of resources required for farming. For instance, east-asia has less water resources and fertile soil which make them incapable to harvest corps which demand higher amounts of water and fertile soil. Additionally, selling food produces worldwide not only supports country's economy, but also makes availbility of the nutritive food consumes to the area with no farming capabilities. To conclude, the consumption of locally grown food items has advantages such as reducing the consumption of fossil fuels and carbon emission, whereas it can be disadvantageous for the people leaving in the area with no farming ability and reduces the global market opportunity.