Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflction of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extend do you agree this statement ? Give reasons for your answer.

Popular hobbies and interests shift frequently and more represent trends and vogues instead of reflecting what people virtually want to do in their leisure time. This is because many individuals tend to follow social demands and because of media exposures. Firstly, there is no doubt that people are unconsciously driven by social demands to define their status in society. This logic applies in popular hobbies and interests as well. For example, two years after the corona virus desease were announced as global pandemic in 2020, traffics in Jakarta were crowded by bicycles. People flocked bike to work because it was not only for healthy lifestyles but aslo possessed symbolic values as a middle-class vehicle. However, this trend did not run for a long time. In 2023 and so forth, workers had reversed to their prior behaviour, using machinery cars to go to the office rather than bikes. Hence, the crowd's interests and hobbies are obviously social constructions, especially when it is supported by media advertisements. Some experts believe that media institutions play a crucial role in shaping public opinions, including how individuals should address their spare day. Media here is defined either in broadcasting ways or merely billboards. For example, a commercial ad for electric cars involving a rising star as its main appearance does not just promote a new eco-friendly product. This also has another reason, namely enforcing users for a new interest related to collecting various car types. The more people earn the product, the more popular it is to create human behaviour. In conclusion, the shifting of public perceptions of popular stuff is sparked by two factors, specifically social demands and media exposure. I firmly believe that these things merely depict trends and fashions rather than represent an individual necessity in their spare time.