Many cities are investing in public transport systems to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of improving public transportation.

The advent of the modern public transportation system has changed the way people travel. Consequently, it is also helping to lower traffic congestion in many cities. Therefore, many authorities are prioritizing the development of public transportation. This trend has many merits and demerits which are elaborated in further essay. Several benefits of investing in transit networks can be put forth. The predominant cause is lower CO2 emissions in the atmosphere. Personal mobility vehicles release the most amount of carbon footprint in our environment. So having a better and reliable transportation network will motivate travellers to use more buses, subways, and street-cars. A perfect example of this is Toronto’s public transportation system. Despite having a high number of individuals with high incomes, public transportation is being used by 70% of the residents daily due to its rapid speed and 24-hours service. As a result, despite being the most populated city in Canada, it has below average CO2 emission rate. However, the downside of investing more in public transportation should not be overlooked. The primary reason is that it could significantly impact the personal mobility sector. By using more public vehicles, the demand for cars, and other modes of transportation will reduce radically, causing loss of employment for many people. The recent automotive manufacturing sector can be considered as a suitable example. Many automakers are shutting down their plants due to less than half of the anticipated growth in newly launched cars. To conclude, allocating more resources to improve public transport systems does have advantages as it preserves a good quality of our precious environment, but its above the requirements of plans could severely impact the employment of automotive industry professionals.