In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

Boys and girls have their own preferences when it comes to school and university subjects. The primary reason for this because cultural stereotypes, although the subjects are not limited for certain genders and free to pursue if it is interesting for them. The ultimate reason for differences in study choice is that subject choices already been created by socio-cultural. Mostly, for specific subjects to more mathematical dominated by boys and artsy things dominated by girls. Boys tend to have requirements in excel mathematical calculations due to boys like to have a challenge and bring them prestige if they study this subject. Creative side more into girls because it shows feminine side, something nurturing because later when they get older, they will be housewives. For example, in Singapore, engineering subject still dominated by men and women already given a place to learn with scholarship, women still choose traditional “female” subjects. According to me, gender-specific personalities and competence need to be respected. Boy and girl have their own uniqueness when it comes to study, they can go for subjects similar to they find suitable and entitled to overcome difficulties that may arise. For example, in my past experience, that was a story of a boy pursue things that he doesn’t like but his parents desire to his success through science. After that, he were becoming stressful and decide committed suicide. Therefore, influence from parents bring the worst outcomes. Children should be in the field where they feel respected and listened to. In conclusion, every student have a free will to choose the subject they love regardless of their gender so that there will be more enthusiastic professionals in both art and science. I believe that this trend will be changed soon.