In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

Historically, education is often considered masculine. While there has been a development with girls equally enrolling in schools, there is no equal distribution in terms of careers. Whereas women are most likely to study art courses, men seem to focus on science such as physics. This could be due to numerous reasons and i believe there is a need for amendment. To begin with, there are various reasons why school girls tend to select an art career, while their fellow counterparts choose scientific courses, but i will focus on two main points. Firstly, this can be attributed to the societal stereotypes. In most cultures, women are viewed as the conservative gender, therefore, aiming at soft activities and an environmental focus future. For example, while growing up in Nigeria, most males in the families are encouraged to learn about mechanical and science-related courses, so they can become doctors or engineers, whereas, females should be focused on how to industrious through crafts and skills, and being soft-spoken. Therefore, this upbringing plays role in shaping the choice of subjects and career pathways. Secondly, women are generally drawn towards arts, which include, design, decorations and even language skills than men, and this might be a contributing factor to why they choose art-related courses. In my opinion, this narrative can be modified, through equal encouragement of both genders by highlighting the importance of variations in position and careers. Although there are some angles to be considered. In conclusion, In spite, various factors are involved concerning the subject choice of both boys and girls. Nevertheless, this should be changed in order to maintain equality in position.