Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Some organization owners and managers can contact their employees at any time despite their holidays. Technological advancements made instantaneous communication hassle free connecting employers and their employees. I strongly agree that this instant contact have more positive impacts than negative sides. On the one hand, most time staffs are responsible for managing the business or organization than the owners. So, the employers have no other options than to contact the employees for completing the work even though they are on leave. Moreover, instant communication with the help of virtual calling made this task easier. Through video calls staffs can solve the problem by analysing and suggesting potential solution. For example, when an IT team leader encounter any software glitches, one of the teammates can solve it from their home using artificial intelligence by connecting both of their devices. As a result, productivity is increased and whole team is rewarded for their work. Additionally, superiors contacting workers all the time and gaining work related informations makes the final output error-free. On the other hand, work-life balance of a staffs are disrupted due to multiple contacts even in their non-working time. For example, contacting an employee for work related questions, who took leave because of health problems can significantly affect his physical and mental health. Moreover, employees are prone to depression and anxiety due to excess workload on holidays. A recent study from Work and Welfare Association of India found that some employees are working 2 to 4 hours overtime in public holidays without getting paid. In conclusion, even though contacting employees in their free time affects work -life balance and cause mental issues, with proper compensation it can lead to a project success and promotion in the company.