In Many countries, people throw away a lot of food from restaurants and shops. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amont of food thrown away?

Food is a basic necessity of human being and wastage of food is increasing at an alarming rate from last few years in many countries.There are numerous reasons behind this problem. This essay will elaborate the reasons and some solutions in the following paragraphs. There are number of factors responsible for food waste.First and foremost is mass production of processed and canned food as many manufacturing companies produce such foodstuffs in bulk and when it is not sold out and expired, has to be thrown in garbage. For example, Tim hortons is largest food chain in Canada and made excessive amount of Donuts,muffins and other kind of food, which has limited shelf-life and thrown away after its expiry time, Which leads to wastage of food.Another striking reason for this obstacle is Inflation as prices of some cuisines are rising and consumers are not able to afford expensive dishes. As a result, unsold food is being dumbed. However, there are some reliable solutions to solve this problem. Firstly, Restaurants should apply penalties on leftover dishes to their customers so they order meals according to their needs not in excess, which will help in reducing the waste of food. Secondly, government should take some initiative to control over pricing of food items so that everyone can afford it and promot less wastage.To exampilify, Canada government has announce no tax on groceries for sometime to help those who cannot buy expensive food and those who are starving. To conclude, Although there are many reasons behind food wastage like excessive production and high prices, yet it can be resolved by takings some feasible solutions as extra fine for leftover food and government can help it by reducing prices.