As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Work takes up a predominant part of adult life, making job satisfaction a critical factor of personal well-being. Plenty of dimensions contribute to job satisfaction, and yet, it is sometimes a impractical requirement to bargain. To begin with, a sense of achievement, welcoming cultures as well as proper work-life balance bring about job satisfaction. For example, receiving compliments or positive feedbacks at work contributes to sense of achievement, encouraging employees to yield productive result consequently, further creating a virtuous cycle. Further more, a diverse working environment that is friendly to members of distinct races and backgrounds functions similarly, as members find it comfortable to exert themselves, and thus boost their confidence. Last but not least, work-life balance encourages workers to pursue physical and mental well-being, raising the level of job satisfaction since workers gain happiness and respect from the policy. However, it is not realistic for all workers to ask for such condition since it takes joint efforts of all walks of life to sustain the society. Therefore, there exists jobs with longer working hours that might compromises work-life balance, or jobs featuring duplicate daily routine such as staff at supermarket or client service sector, leading to the absence of the sense of achievement in the long run. Other than that, some occupations entail working under intense pressure in harsh circumstances, failing to meet the expectation of a cozy culture, take, chip producing engineers, for example. In those cases, it is not practical to ask for job satisfaction based on the nature of the jobs. In conclusion, satisfaction at work plays a crucial role in maintaining healthy mindset. Analyzed closely, personal achievements, respectful working environments and balanced lifestyles add up a satisfactory job. Nevertheless, it could sometimes be sacrificed for the function of the society.