Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently, schools offer several add-ons for education subjects, especially the science of food and how to make it but, this action brings a little controversy about whether this is necessary or not. This essay will discuss it and prove why learning important subjects should be focussed more. On the one hand, some may argue that healthy cooking is important for kids because they should be prepared for an independent life. Since it requires some survival skills like preparing cooking, this subject becomes essential for them to learn it. For example, college kids will be confused to set the materials for cooking nutritious food if they did not learn it in school. Additionally, mastering the science of meals will give broader knowledge for kids and prevent them from eating more junk food because it’s accessible and fast rather than nutritious food. On the other hand, a lot of teachers believe that cooking skills it’s not the main focus of the school. They trust that schools are responsible to build the foundation of knowledge to establish the hard skills of the students. Moreover, making food is a soft skill and should be taught in the home by parents since parents are usually responsible for setting their lunch box and dinner. For instance, moms could make breakfast together and teach their kids about the nutritious ingredients. This will familiarise them with preparing healthy food for themself. In conclusion, making healthy meals is important and should be taught to the children, but I think it can be done in the home, especially by their own parents. Moreover, I think schools should focus on teaching important subjects like math and hard skills because those are more critical things to teach at the school. By combining those two we can create a healthier and smarter generation in the future.