Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Certain employers would like contact their staff whenever needed, leading to an ongoing debate about whether it is generally beneficial or not. While some people may think it have more upsides, I believe the downsides outweigh the upsides. Most importantly, even though this allows instant communication and command, it would also harms staff’s mental well-being and their overall working quality. One significant downside is it results in chronic detriments on staff’s mental wellness. People require high quality rest to reset themselves before they can travel further. In doing so, it is crucial to shield employee from being in a state of unsettling at the time when they need to rest. Therefore, the fundamental work and life balance is key for employer’s wellness. However, supervisors usually play the role who pressure workers for higher performance. Hence, constant contact from employers can deprive staff of the peace they need, leaving them in a state of unrest. After all, allowing employers to remain in contact is tantamount to sacrificing worker’s right to peace of mind, and, consequently, their mental healthiness of mind. Meanwhile, the employers won’t entrench staff’s productivity and performance by contacting them at all times neither. While contacting staffs anytime immediately as a need appear may seem convenient and efficient, it actually means requiring the staffs proceed their work anywhere they may pick up the phone. Most likely, they will be picking up the phone in a place not suitable for work such a train station. Hence, the quality of their output will must decline due to their lack of concentration or inevitable environmental interruption. Moreover, a sudden call may be turn out in vain, since the staffs simply don’t have necessary data by their side for reference. In conclusion, even though contacting staffs in anytime may seem agile on the surface, it causes tremendous harms in the mean time. Particularly, it will not only harm the staff’s mental wellness, but also their working quality. Apparently, despite it may reduce the effort of communication and allow supervisors handing down their commands more easily, the overall decline of the staff’s mental health and working quality still can not be offset. Hence, it has an overall negative impact.