Some people think that old houses should be knocked down to build new houses or apartment blocks. Others think that old houses should be protected because they are part of a nation’s history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Building new cities has become a concern in modern communities. Mnany people believe that it is better to replace aged houses with developed ones and condos that has capacity for more population. While others stress the importance of taking care of those historical houses as they are reflecting social identities. In this essay, I will explain why I disagree with destroying the old houses with new ones. One key reason for saving the old homes is that they are the immage of peoples culture. Young generations should know how their ancestors used to live. For example, in Amman, the capital of Jordan, there are many historical buildings that illustrate how Jordanians used to live and protect themselves during different eras. My kids would love to visit this site not only for its astonishing architecture but also for the heritage stories it tells. Those places should be marked as protected places and stop the accomodating new population there. Also, the number of citizens living in one place will have a serious negative impact on the environment. As more individuals will be competeing for limited natural resourses in one area. For instance, the government of Jordan has decided to stop new construction in some cities like Irdid. This is due to the noticed demand on water resources, which caused less quality of service provided for people. In conclusion, Old houses should not be damaged to build developed cities and accomodate people. Protecting the culture and the natural resources should be considered by governments and individuals.