Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Several students believe learning different subjects besides their main course is useful while others think focusing only on their major is more important than. Both views have advantages and disadvantages. I will discuss about both perspectives before giving my opinion which will be useful for everyone. To begin with my ideas, learning extra subjects can help students develop a wide range of skills. It allows them to gain knowledge in different areas which can be useful in the future. For example, a computer science student who studies marketing may have better chances of starting a business. Also, studying multiple subjects can improve problem solving and creativity. Many successful people have knowledge in different fields which helps them think in new ways. On the other hand, focusing only on a main subject allows students to gain deep knowledge and become experts. This is especially important for fields that require a high level of skill, such as medicine or law. If students divide their time between too many subjects, they might not perform well in their main studies. For instance, a medical student who spends time learning music might struggle to understand complex medical concepts. This could affect their grades and future career. In conclusion, while studying extra subjects can make students more creative and flexible, along with focusing on one subject is better for academic success. In my opinion, universities should allow students to choose optional subjects but not make them compulsory. Thus, students can decide what works best for them.